From Russia with love!

Have you just joined or have you been here a while? You can introduce yourself, and your vehicle, here. You can also find a link to the member map along with instructions on how to get yourself listed.

Moderators: Charlesm, KarlJ, zoltan

OJMaxwell

From Russia with love!

Post by OJMaxwell » Sun Feb 14, 2016 10:44 pm

Hi there!

So, I'm Orson (my real name confuses English speakers so I'm shy to reveal it).

I live near Moscow and I've just acquired a GAZ-66-05. I've been reading up on the subject for a couple of years, and the time has finally come for me to become a happy owner. The vehicle was manufactured in '82, it is in a good shape and is equipped with a K66 type van. I intend to build a living space inside and travel around our wilderness for short autonomous trips. I'll be also attending our local offroad club events as a rescue vehicle I suppose.

I love music, guns and being outdoors. I enjoy making things myself. I'm a HAM radio hobbyist as well. I like when something is engineered and manufactured with love and much thought - that is why I'm into soviet engineering school and that is why I chose the 66 of all the vehicles in the world.

Cheers!

P.S. my present coordinates for the members map: 54°52′39″N 38°7′25″E
GAZ 66

funkypete
Site Admin

Re: From Russia with love!

Post by funkypete » Mon Feb 15, 2016 1:40 pm

Welcome along.

A newer Gaz than many here, your English is good 2nd language?
UAZ 452
Russian Sankey trailer
Mz Etz 125

OJMaxwell

Post by OJMaxwell » Mon Feb 15, 2016 3:46 pm

Hey, thanks!

Yeah, I was lucky to lay my hands on that particular truck, but then again - it is not that hard to find newer trucks here, I guess.

English is indeed my second language, but I've studied hard to learn it as well as I could. I'm working part time as an English teacher here in my hometown as well.
GAZ 66

Gaz-lad2

Post by Gaz-lad2 » Mon Feb 15, 2016 8:00 pm

Welcome to the forum.

Kieran

gaz 66